Terry Gibbons Profile and Latest League Results

Two items today: the latest Winter Singles League results (in the usual place), and the latest in our Profile series: Terry Gibbons, the club’s new President.

(To read more profiles of club members, click Profiles in the Categories list on the right-hand side of this page.)

P1010553x

Hi Terry, can you tell us your occupation?

I am a Flight Performance Analyst at Gatwick Airport.

How long have you lived in Brighton?

I moved to Brighton in 2005 and reside in Montpelier Terrace which is in a very nice area and central – it is also very convenient for me to walk to the Peace Statue Terrain!

How long have you been playing pétanque?

Being encouraged by the then President, Tony Mann, I first ‘tried’ pétanque in 2007 and shortly afterwards joined BHPC.

What have been your petanque highlights so far?

I think my biggest pétanque highlights so far have been:

1.   Playing in the 2011 EuroGames held in Rotterdam. I partnered Tony Mann and ‘Brighton Boule Boyz’ won the bronze medal (and on my birthday too!).

2.   In 2011 representing Sussex in the National Championships with Alan Issler and Tony Mann and our team being seeded No 4.

3.   Partnering Tony Mann and being the BHPC Doubles League Champions (undefeated) in 2011.

What are your other interests or hobbies?

I enjoy travelling, going to the theatre and attending music concerts.

Tell us something that Club members don’t already know about yourself.

During my time in the Royal Air Force, I was seconded to the Sultan of Oman’s Air Force (which later became the Royal Air Force of Oman). During my loan service tour I was awarded the Gulf War Medal (with Clasp) for front-line service during the ‘Liberation of Kuwait’.

What are your plans/hopes as Club President?

1.   I would like to see an increase in BHPC membership.

2.   I will be encouraging more BHPC members to enter ‘outside’ competitions.

3.   At the end of my tenure I would like to hand over to my successor a financially healthy club with a happy and thriving membership.

Thanks, Terry. Good luck with your presidency.

This entry was posted in Club personnel, Profiles. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Terry Gibbons Profile and Latest League Results

  1. ami sasportas says:

    Well dan terry. And good luck with your presidency
    we be hapy to com agen to open tornir.
    Ami and sveta
    Israel

  2. I’m sure Terry would want to thank you for your kind words.
    The club would be delighted to see you and Sveta at our Open competition later this year.

    Best wishes to both of you.

Leave a Reply

